Those who will fight in Fakhrul’s seat

The Election Commission has declared the names of seven candidates for the by-election in Bogra-6 (Sadar) constituency. Today, the list of final seven candidates is published on the last day of withdrawal of candidacy. Returning Officer and Bogra District Election Officer Mahbub Alam Shah released a valid list of candidates for the party’s behalf.

The final candidates are Awami League’s nominated candidate and District Awami League joint secretary SM Jaman Niketta, BNP nominee from BNP and Golam Mohammad Siraj (GM Siraj), BNP nominee Nurul Islam Omar, Monsur of Bangladesh Congress Rahman, Rafiqul Islam of Bangladesh Muslim League and Independent candidate Minhaj and Syed Kabir Ahmed

According to the office of District Returning Officer, eight candidates, including two of BNP, were declared valid after the scrutiny of nomination papers on May 27 in Bogra-6 constituency. Meanwhile, before the withdrawal of nomination papers, Ghulam Mohammad Siraj was declared the final candidate from the BNP. In a letter signed last Sunday by BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, GM Siraj was requested to allocate party symbol. Because of this, the nomination papers of BNP’s other candidate Rezaul Karim Badsha were canceled.

The Bogra-6 seat is known as the ‘reserved’ seat for the Zia family. From 1979 to 2008, the election was held by the BNP. In the 1991 elections, the state’s Finance Minister Mujibur Rahman had won the symbol of paddy.

BNP Chairperson Khaleda Zia won 1996, 2001 and 2008, with a huge margin of 4 points in the January 22 election. In the 2008 election, he won 1 lakh 93 thousand 792 votes. The nearest rival, District Awami League’s late President Momtaz Uddin, got 74 747 votes.

On January 5, 2014, the ‘one-sided’ election boycotted the BNP. Jatiya Party’s Nurul Islam Omar, nominated for the Grand Alliance, became the MP without any contest with the Awami League.

In the corruption case, BNP chairperson Khaleda Zia was imprisoned on the head of the eleven parliamentary elections, BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir contested the Shees symbol of rice and won the victory by defeating the grand alliance candidate Nurul Islam by nearly half a million votes. Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chowdhury announced the meeting on April 30 for not taking oath of office. The Election Commission announced the May 4 sub-election schedule.

According to the schedule announced on 24th of June, voting will be held in the electronic voting machines. Tomorrow, the symbol will be allocated among the final candidates. Apply 3,87,445 voters to the Bogra-6 constituency in the by-election.

Written by 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *